If you are a driver in Florida then are probably aware of the TLSAE certification requirement, or “Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education.” Here are all the details on what you need to know about TLSAE course.
It is a prerequisite
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle made TLSAE certification mandatory for all new drivers in the state. It did this to achieve its primary goal which also doubles up as the motto, “A Safer Florida.” You should take this course if you have never had a driving license in any state or country. In case you are under 21, Florida’s DHSMV requires that you retake these classes if your license is suspended for a DUI.
Course duration and content
It is a four-hour course that covers the following topics;
- The physiological effects: it deals with the effects of alcohol and drugs to the body.
- Psychological effects: it handles the impact of alcohol and drugs on a person’s mental health
- Societal and economic impacts: it deals with the impact of alcohol and drugs on a person’s social and economic well-being.
- Drugs, Alcohol, and Driving: the chapter deals with the effects of alcohol and drugs on a motor vehicle driver and its results.
- Traffic laws: It is an introduction to the essential road rules in Florida.
- Traffic signs: the chapter is a review of the common line signals and road signs.
If you cannot attend a driving school for these classes because of distance or time constraints, you can opt for online courses. Florida’s DHSMV has licensed and approved a few driving schools to provide TSLAE online courses. It is a more convenient way of taking a 4-hour course than the traditional classroom set up because of the following reasons
- The lessons are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- You can learn at your own pace
- You can read anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, PC or Tablet, as long as it has access to the internet.
- There are usually no hidden costs.
- They have free offers and fee discounts
Once you have completed your online course and cleared the fee, your certificate is sent automatically to Florida’s DHSMV by your school. A copy of the same is also to you through email.
Not all TSLAE courses go by the same name. Other names include
- Drug and alcohol course
- The four-hour drug and alcohol test
- Drug alcohol traffic awareness, DATA course
- Drug alcohol traffic education, DATE course
- First-time driver course
The importance of a TSLAE certification cannot be overlooked. Besides, learning has been made easier and convenient with the availability of online courses. There is no excuse for not taking this course.